Oatmeal in a Jar – Peanut Butter that is

I finally remembered to save the dregs of my peanut butter to make some oatmeal in a jar.  Kath always make such delicious looking oatmeal and the peanut butter jar idea is genius!  Into my jar went 1/2 cup oatmeal that had been cooked in 1 cup water with a pinch of salt.  I added half a melted banana at the end of cooking I used Katie’s famous melted banana trick.  And if that wasn’t a dandy enough breakfast, I topped the whole thing with Singing Pig Cherry Pie Butter and some ground flax seed.  What a beautiful way to start the day.  I’m usually a steel-cut oats in the crock-pot or overnight oats in soy yogurt kind of gal but this will definitely be in my oatmeal repertoire, I just have to remember to not lick the peanut butter jar clean.  R. came over while I was eating and blurted out, “Are you eating a whole jar of peanut butter?”  He doesn’t always sensor what he asks me even though I am the mother-in-law. 

This stuff is some deliciousness in a jar…it’s excellent on warm scones!

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

