Veggie Grill In Review

Dinner last night couldn’t have been better.  I’ve only eaten at the Veggie Grill in Irvine  three times and each time has been a most excellent experience.  The counter help is always friendly and smiling and the place always looks spotless.  Last night I got my free birthday entree’, just fill out a survey and it’s yours.  I chose the Chipotle BBQ sandwich.  Shredded veggie steak with barbeque sauce and chipotle ranch, carmelized onions, lettuce and tomato.  All this loveliness is served on a soft wheat bun with a choice of sides.  I selected my favorite sweetheart fries (sweet potato fries) which adds $2.25 to your bill but is well worth it.  I’ve heard their steamin’ kale is killer too but I can never pass up a good sweet potato fry.  The fries come with a little cup of chipotle ranch for dipping too.  I also got my favorite iced tea…they have a good selection of lightly sweetened and unsweetened.  I mixed a little of the peach with plain black for a refreshing beverage to accompany the chipotle spice.  By the way, I read that chipotle flavor is on its way out.  I don’t really care, I’ll still enjoy it, I don’t mind being hopelessly outdated.  D. settled on the same thing as I had except he got the mac n’ cheese for his side.  For a dedicated omnivore that he is he certainly seemed to enjoy his sandwich.  Could have been that he was super hungry or it could have been that the food is just that dang good! 

The sign…

The sips…

Iced tea and root beer…sorry no Coke served here but they do serve beer and wine if you’re in the mood.

The sides…sweetheart fries

mac n’ cheese

The sandwich

Yummmmm

The Veggie Grill (Campus Drive) on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Filed under Dining Out

Leave a Reply

