Reconstructed Cookies

How do you make cookies out of cookies, you might ponder sometimes?  Take a jar of Biscoff Spread (Speculoos) which is basically deconstructed cookies and mix it up with some of your most basic cookie ingredients and there you go!  Cookies made out of cookies; in other words reconstructed.  After reading about Biscoff spread on more vegan blogs than I care to think that I read, I decided I just had to try the stuff for myself.  That and the fact that I know I love the cookies, but I haven’t flown Delta in a while and have never seen them in the store.  Although if I understand correctly Walgreen’s, of all places, carries both the cookies and the spread; who knew?  So back to the cookies…a very simple recipe that I found from Have Cake Will Travel, which I’ve copied below substituting the ingredients I used.  The beauty of this recipe is that you get to mix the whole thing with your fingers and really who doesn’t love playing in cookie dough?

Speculoos Spread Cookies

1/3 cup (100 g) Speculoos spread
1/4 cup (48 g) Brown sugar
1/4 cup (48 g) white sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Pinch fine sea salt
1/2 cup (63 g) all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons (45 ml) nondairy milk of your choice

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C, or gas mark 4). Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats, such as Silpat.
In a large bowl, combine spread with sugars, cinnamon and salt with the tip of your fingers until well combined.
Add flour and baking powder and keep on using your fingers until combined. Still using your fingers, add milk, 1 tablespoon (15 ml) at a time, until the cookie dough is moistened enough to hold together well.
Pack 1 heaping tablespoon (30 g) of dough per cookie and place on prepared sheets. There’s no need to flatten the dough as the cookies will spread just fine on their own as they bake. Be sure to just place 5 cookies per sheet so that they have room to “grow”.
Bake for 12 minutes, or until golden around the edges.
Leave the cookies alone for a few minutes on the baking sheets once they are out of the oven so that they firm up. Let cool on wire rack.

Yield: 10 cookies

Sugars and Biscoff all pulverized with my own bare hands!  Don’t say it, I know what it looks like!

Perfect cookies made with a perfect scoop.  How did I ever bake cookies without one?

Sugary deliciousness!

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

