MoFo #20 – Let the Cooking Begin

After a quickie fall inspired dinner I took to Thanksgiving preparations.  Peeling yams for a sweet potato casserole.  I know I should call it yam casserole, but I usually use yams instead of sweet potatoes in recipes.  I like the darker sweeter flesh of yams, sweet potatoes always seem a little dry to me.  This year I’m trying Fat Free Vegan’s Sweet Potato Casserole with Pecan ToppingIt’s very similar to the fat laden casserole that I’ve made in years past but with much less fat and calories.  Good times.  I also threw two butternut squash in the oven to roast for Autumn Harvest Salad.  My house is a mess and I still have a ton of stuff to do but I’m not feeling too stressed about it.  Maybe it was the calming influence my dinner had on me.  I made Apple Cinnamon Cranberry Quinoa courtesy of the darling Emily over at the Front Burner blog.  I topped mine with some Tofurkey sausage and the combination of savory and sweet put me in a zen frame of mind!

Looks similar to my oatmeal ingredients yesterday…can’t beat a winning combination.

 

Cooked and topped with a bit of sausage for a protein boost

Yams – – simmering away

and butternuts in the dark recesses of my oven

1 Comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

One response to “MoFo #20 – Let the Cooking Begin

Leave a Reply

