What’s for Breakfast?

I have a new favorite for breakfast lately.  I tend to eat the same thing for breakfast every day.  I was on a coconut milk yogurt/fruit/cereal kick for a long time.  Then switched to smoothies, especially of the green variety.  Recently though I’ve been in a tofu scramble phase.  I like to make my scrambles a little soft so at the beginning of the week I mash up about a pound of super firm tofu, then I mix a half a pound of silken firm tofu with the juice from a half a lemon and a little sea salt in the blender and poor it over the mashed tofu and mix it all together.  I can just store it in the fridge and it lasts me a couple of days.  Then I just fry it up with some veggies and some standard scramble seasonings for a very quick breakfast.  I mix up a batch of seasonings too and keep them in a jar for convenience.  I like a base of nooch mixed with cumin, onion powder, curry powder, and tumeric…very delicious.  This morning I fried up some mushrooms with my scramble and had it with a perfectly pink grapefruit half from TJs.  The savory flavor of the tofu went stunningly with the tartness of the grapefruit and the textures of both were fantastic.  A  breakfast to be happy with!

scramble 001

A better picture, my camera battery was dead so I had to use my old camera.  Even though it doesn’t look too appetizing it was delicious!

scramble 002

Cheers…Oh by the way, I did a survey for Vita Mix today and for a thank you they gave a Green Smoothie recipe e-booklet, very cool.  I may have to switch back to the smoothie for breakfast routine for a bit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

