Kabocha

This evening I fired up the oven and baked a big old bad boy kabocha.  My house smelled fantastic and it was all toasty warm, too bad it was in the high 70’s today.  Oh well, even us here in So-Cal can pretend it’s fall.  I was going to stuff it with something but couldn’t come up with anything that didn’t involve grains and with all the starch in the squash I didn’t want to go into a carbo coma after dinner.  Instead I just took a quarter chunk and topped it with some almond butter and a drizzle of maple syrup.  I remember seeing kabocha with peanut butter on bjorkedoff’s blog during vegan MOFO and I thought almond butter would be equally delicious.  Oh my gosh, what a feast…sometimes I forget just how beautiful, tasty and filling simple food is.

All forked up…

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

