Winter’s Here

The rain was coming down this morning and the sky was thick with gray clouds, no break in sight.  Before I went to the gym I put some oatmeal in the crockpot, by the time I got home and showered up it was ready to warm me up before heading off to take my final.  What an excellent way to start off a drizzly, dismal day.  I think it probably helped me get a 98 on my final too.  Here’s my favorite recipe for crockpot oatmeal:

Steel-cut Crockpot Oatmeal

In a 2.5 qt crockpot mix all ingredients

2 cups Vanilla Soy Milk (today I used Pumpkin Spice Silk)

2 T. Molasses

2 T. Maple Syrup

1 c. Steelcut oatmeal

1/4 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

1/4 tsp Salt

1/4 c. dried cherries (today I used dried cranberries)

2 c. Water

Cook on high for 2 to 4 hours.  Mine usually takes a little over 2 hours.  I topped this morning’s oatmeal with some chopped walnuts but pecans are good too.

Bad picture (dead camera battery again)

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

