More Vegan Danish

Well, about 11:30pm we finally got to enjoy a hot from the oven Danish.  I have to say the effort was well worth it.  There are a few things I would tweak next time around and yes I will be making these again especially if I have something unpleasant I want to avoid doing.  The Danish turned out light and flakey, but I think next time I’ll make them smaller and perhaps bake slightly longer.  I like Danish with a bit of crisp to the edges.  I made pineapple because I had leftover pineapple preserves from the Banana Split Cupcakes, and cherry because I had a jar of Crofters Morello Cherry Conserves which I absolutely love, and third I had a jar of fig preserves that I used.  I think the whole thing actually started with the fig preserves, I bought them after I had a dream about making fig Danish, so really this was all a fulfillment of a dream and not some elaborate ploy to avoid writing my term paper.  The recipe I used was adapted from Better Homes and Gardens Old Fashioned Home Baking cookbook circa 1990, which is part of my rather extensive cookbook collection.  I can’t really remember baking from it too much but it does have fabulous pictures (I tend to read cookbooks like novels). 

So here’s the recipe:

Classic Vegan Danish Pastry

1 1/2 cups Earth Balance Buttery Sticks

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

3 1/2 to 4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I used a little more than 3 1/2 cups)

1 package active dry yeast

1 1/4 cups soy creamer or milk (or any non-dairy milk)

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

Egg Replacer to equal 1 egg (I used Ener-G)

In a large bowl beat EB with an electric mixer on medium to high-speed about 30 seconds or till softened.  Add the 1/3 cup flour and mix well.  Roll the EB mixture between two sheets of waxed paper in to a 12×6-inch rectangle.  Chill for 1 hour.

Four dough, in a large bowl combine 1 1/4 cups of remaining flour and yeast.  Heat and stir creamer/milk, sugar, and salt just till warm (120 to 130 degrees).  Add to flour mixture.  Add egg replacer.  Beat with an electric mixer on low to medium speed for 30 seconds, scraping bowl.  Then beat on high-speed for 3 minutes.  Using a wooden spoon, stir in as much remaining flour as you can. 

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface.  Knead in enough of the remaining flour to make a moderately soft dough that is smooth and elastic (3 to 5 minutes total).  Cover and let rest for 10 minutes.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough into a 14-inch square.  remove top sheet of waxed paper from the EB mixture.  Carefully invert the EB mixture onto half the dough to within 1 inch of edges.  Remove waxed paper.  Fold over the other half of dough and seal edges by pressing together.  Roll into a 21×12-inch rectangle.  Fold crosswise into thirds to form a 12×7-inch rectangle.  Chill for one hour.  Repeat rolling into a 21×12-inch rectangle, folding and chilling three more times (you see why you can avoid so much homework here?). 

Roll your 12×7-inch rectangle into a 20×12-inch rectangle.  Cut dough crosswise into twenty 12×1-inch strips.  Take a strip, one end in each hand, and twist in opposite directions 3 or 4 times.  Place the twisted strip on an ungreased baking sheet, forming it into a snail shape.  Tuck the ends underneath (some of my ends came untucked during baking).  Repeat with remaining strips. 

Using your thumb make an indentation in the center of each pastry.  Spoon 1 rounded tablespoon of filling into each indentation, use whatever preserves or fruit, nut-butter, tofu cream cheese, you have for filling.  Cover and let rise in a warm place till nearly double (45 to 60 minutes).

Bake at 375 degrees for 20 to 22 minutes or until golden.  Remove pastries and cool slightly.  Drizzle with a powdered sugar icing made from 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and enough non-dairy milk or creamer to make a drizzle consistancy (you know what I mean).

Enjoy warm!

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

