Dinner in a Hurry

I was eating alone tonight and I didn’t really feel like cooking.  After the Lentil Loaf debacle I had several batches of lentils in my freezer so I thought I would throw together some soup and use up my CSA leftovers before my next delivery.  I had some collard greens, a purple onion, a few Roma tomatoes, and a lemon that fell from my neighbors tree onto my grass (that’s fair game I’m thinking).  That sounded like soup to me…I found out that even canned lentil soup is brightened up with the addition of some lemon juice.  I don’t think I would eat a bowl without a squeeze anymore.  Here’s what I did:

Lentil Soup in Hurry

1 onion, chopped (I used purple but whatever you have will work)

2 cloves of garlic

3 Roma tomatoes, chopped (or any tomatoes will do I imagine)

1 1/2 teaspoons cumin

1/2 teaspoon thyme

2 cups cooked lentils

1/4 c dried apricots, chopped

2 cups vegetable broth (or water)

1 bunch collard greens (spinach would work here too)

Lemon wedges and fresh ground pepper to serve

Saute the onion and garlic in a bit of oil for about 2 or 3 minutes.  Add tomatoes, cumin, and thyme and cook three more minutes.  Add the apricots, lentils, and broth and simmer for 5 minutes.  Remove half the soup and puree in a blender until smooth, return to pot.  You can also use a hand blender which is easier but the only hand blender I have is used for soap making and lye and dinner don’t mix so well, so I used my Vita Mix.  Add the chopped greens to the pot, cover and cook another 5 minutes or so.  Serve in bowls with a wedge of lemon and some freshly ground black pepper.

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

