I’m Dreaming of a White Pizza

I do love pizza, but with no tomato sauce or paste or even fresh tomatoes I settled on a white pizza of sorts.  I made a simple white sauce and added Italian Daiya to it.  Then sautéed some white mushrooms and broccoli, ok, I know broccoli is not white but I said this was sort of a white pizza.  Anyway, I topped it with more Italian Daiya and since I had leftover Cheddar Daiya I threw that on too.  I made the pizza dough from VWAV and added 1 cup of whole wheat flour with two cups of white instead of all 3 cups of white, a little roughage never hurt anyone.  I really like that dough, it makes enough for two pizzas so you can feed a few friends or freeze one for later.  In my house we only need one pizza and I wound up with two pieces and N. scarfed down the remaining six, that boy can eat!

White Daiya Pizza Sauce

1 1/2 Tablespoons Earth Balance

1 Tablespoon flour

1 cup non-dairy milk ( I used soy because that’s what I had)

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup Italian Daiya

white pepper to taste

Heat the EB in a saucepan over medium-heat.  Add flour and cook two minutes or until golden, stirring constantly (it can burn pretty quickly so watch it).  Stir in non-dairy milk and, garlic, and salt.  Continue to cook and stir until mixture thickens and starts to bubble.  Remove from heat and stir in Daiya.  Add white pepper to taste.

All dressed up and nowhere to go (but in the oven, heh heh)

Doesn’t that broccoli look good?  My CSA is the best!

Ready to eat!

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

