Citrus Tarts Make a Comeback

Pregnant T. has been craving all things citrusy, sour, and tart.  She loved the lemon cheesecake tarts and I know key lime is one of her favorites so I turned a Vegetarian Times Key Lime Pie recipe into little mini tarts.  I used the Keebler graham cracker crusts again rather than making my own.  I didn’t have any key limes so I just used regular limes plus I only had 5 and I ended up squeezing one of the leftover Meyer lemons in too, which made just enough juice.  The base of the filling is cashews and tofu, it’s lightly sweetened with agave nectar, so all the bland background notes really let the lime flavor shine through.  The filling cooked up extremely thick and I got scared for a moment when I saw all these lumpy, curdley, things as I was stirring.  I just kept on with my wooden spoon and soon it all smoothed out…Phew!  T. said since baby K. is due to make his arrival any day now she can indulge in a treat or two.  She’s kept her weight in check and exercises daily so I say go for it, what’s a tart now and then?

Ingredients assembled and ready to go in the Vita Mix

I do love my Vita Mix and use it daily, a quick whirl and it’s smooth as silk!

Filled tarts ready to be popped in the ‘fridge, you can see how thick the filling is.  I’ll top it with some Soya Too when they’re nice and chilled.

Oh, and I also planted my garden today…basil, rosemary, cilantro, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, bell pepper, zucchini, and eggplant.  For some reason I got two eggplants, whoops!

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

