More Sweet Potatoes

I love sweet potatoes and was lucky enough to get some in my last CSA shipment, so tonight I made chili topped sweet potatoes.  I had pre-planned this so I cooked up the kidney beans earlier in the week.  I think having cooked beans on hand is one of the best things you can do for advance meal prep.  They just come in so handy for making a quick batch of hummus, throwing a cupful in a batch of soup, tossing a handful on a spring green salad for a protein boost.  I try to use my slow cooker to make them most of the time because I like the convenience of leaving a big pot of beans simmering at home while I toil away at work.  Anyway back to the chili beans, this is what I did:

Spicy Chili Beans to serve over Baked Sweet Potatoes

3 sweet potatoes, baked

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, crushed

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground coriander

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1-14 oz, can diced tomatoes

1 cup vegetable broth

1 zucchini, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 1/2 cups corn, frozen or fresh

1 12/ cups cooked kidney beans

3 Tablespoons cilantro, chopped

sour cream (non-dairy of course), cheese (non-dairy of course) for toppings

Heat the oil and cook the onion over medium heat for 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and spices and cook and stir for 1 minute.  Add the tomatoes and vegetable broth and stir.  Add the vegetables and beans and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes, covered.  Uncover, increase heat a bit and cook for another 10 or 15 minutes until the liquid has reduced and thickened.  Stir in the cilantro.  Split the sweet potatoes and ladle the chili beans over, top with sour cream (I used FYH) and cheese if you have any…I didn’t. 

The beans weren’t too spicy but just melded well with the soft and sweet potato.  These would be good over a russet or Yukon gold too.

Simmering…

Served up with all the trimmings

And to sip, another Vignette Soda, Rose this time

And don’t think I forgot dessert, a lovely piece of raspberry tea infused dark chocolate, yummo

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

