Kale

Kale is something I never ate until I joind my CSA.  I was a broccoli, carrot, cauliflower sort of gal and never ventured out into the world of “exotic” leafy greens.  Once I tried it though, I’m hooked.  I love the way they cook it at the Veggie Grill, and I still need to try to make Kale Chips, but I do love the Garlicky Kale from VWAV.  Let me tell you my garlic story, one night we went to an LA Kings game at the Staples Center.  We got an order of garlic fries, well because we could.  The next day was Sunday and in church I noticed no one was sitting by me, I took no offense until a man leaned over and offered me a piece of gum, well I never!  Anyway, I have made Garlicky Kale several times (never on a Saturday night though) and yet never took the time to make the Tahini Dressing that goes with it.  Well last night I did and I have to say that is one killer sauce.  I can see it on some fresh falafel (I put some chickpeas in to soak for that very reason).  It was awesome on the kale and I drizzled some on a leftover Black Bean Burger.  I left it off my sweet potato fries but I’m sure it would have been delicious on them too.  I bought a squeeze bottle at Bed Bath and Beyond last weekend and it has now been put to good use.  The only thing I changed up with the recipe is the parsley.  I didn’t have any, so I used cilantro of which I had a bunch.  All I can say is, “Don’t get saucy with me, Bearnaise”

Lots of garlic…take that vampires!

Kale and burger looking a little saucy dontcha think?

A little squeeze if you please

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

