Sunshine Muffins

I continued my cooking and baking for the new family this morning and made Carrot Pineapple Sunshine Muffins from VCON.  I was lucky enough to get a batch of Nantes carrots in my CSA shipment this week.  They’re smaller and sweeter than your average bad boy carrot from the grocery store.  They also contain more moisture so I thought they were a good choice for the muffins.  These muffins don’t rise much which they tell you in the book, so they’ve got a flat top look instead of a puffy round top like many bakery muffins.  Taste, though, a little less sweet than carrot cake but with the same cinnamony, gingery spiciness to them.  I melted a blob of Artisana Coconut Butter on mine and boy was that a nice little breakfast surprise.  New family got half a dozen and I kept the other half-dozen for N. and me.  They make a nice afternoon snack with a cup of Coconut Chai tea, I should know since that’s what I had for mine.

Carrot carcasses

Flattops or crew cut muffins, they look almost like cookies don’t they?

A big blob of Coconut Butter, it melted into a pool of loveliness on my warm muffin.

Bagged up, labeled and ready to deliver to those in muffin need

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

