Delivery Day

No not baby delivery or even mail delivery, but CSA delivery.  Every other Tuesday I look forward to my box of produce delivered straight to my door from an organic farm up north.  Since I joined Farm Fresh to You I’ve been so pleased with their fruits and veggies.  I’ve been known to let my shipment go past it’s prime and wind up in my composter but that’s not anyone’s fault but my own and I hate when I do that.  The shipment today brought me fava beans, now when I think of fava beans I think of Hannibal Lecter saying, “A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti.”  So even though it is census time again I don’t think I’ll be cooking up my fava beans with anyone’s liver, or even serving it with a glass of chilled white, although that does sound tempting (the wine not the liver!).  I did find a nice recipe for fava beans and pasta, and I actually planned ahead by checking out what was going to be included in my shipment this week and planning my grocery shopping around that…what a novel concept!  Tonight though I made Sesame Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Broccoli.  My house still smells of the vegetables roasting with the nutty scent of sesame oil.  The vegetables were served over a bed of baby spinach which magically wilted from the heat of the potatoes, and everything was dressed with an orange juice spiked sesame dressing.  What a great meal and of course N. gobbled up 3 of the 4 servings leaving me with one, but that’s ok…just left room for a little strawberry topped lemon tart for dessert.

Broccoli, green onions, and sweet potato wedges all waiting to be roasted up

Broccoli bones for the compost

Citrusy dressed spinach and sweets

I tried Mori-Nu Lemon Creme Mates for the first time…

Made into little tarts with a CSA strawberry on top

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

