“Hell no, I don’t like no parfait”

I overslept this morning…actually I woke up at 4:37 and even though I had time to go to the gym and get my run in I rolled over and went back to sleep until 5:45, luxury.  I told myself I could swap my training plan days and instead of taking tomorrow as my rest day I would take today and run tomorrow.  Well then I remembered I had a 5:15 call scheduled tomorrow morning (dang East Coast) and that pretty much cancels a trip to the gym.  After arguing with myself most of the day, that and a big tostada luncheon at work, I came home, changed right into my running togs and headed out the door.  I don’t know why I let a little bump in my perfectly laid plans interfere with a workout.  It’s not like I have to run at the gym, actually I like running on the streets better, it’s just one of those mind games and you’d think by now I’d be a little more flexible.  With the run out of the way I wasn’t really hungry still from lunch and it was getting too late to start in with a big meal so I made a strawberry parfait for dinner.  Simple, some CSA strawberries sliced into a heart festooned dessert dish, blop on some vanilla soy yogurt, and a sprinkle of TJ’s granola; layered twice it filled my dish.  I always loved that line from Shrek, when Donkey asks Shrek , “You know what else everybody likes?  Parfaits”, sometimes I feel like Donkey and jump from one subject to the next, but in this case he speaks the truth.  How often have you  heard someone say, “Hell no, I don’t like no parfait”?

You can’t really see the layers but trust me they’re there

A little sweet, a little tart, a little creamy, a little crunchy…the perfect balance

And the bonus was it was light enough and warm enough to enjoy outside with a new book on my Kindle

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

