Oodles of Noodles

Oodles is a word that shamefully doesn’t get enough use these day, so I felt I should bring it out of hibernation.  I made a Soba Noodle Salad today, with fresh cilantro harvested from my garden.  I love going out in my backyard and picking something that’s totally fresh and untainted by pesticides or long cross country travels.  The sauce for the salad was made with peanut and almond butters (it called for peanut butter but I ran out and used almond butter), rice vinegar, a bit of agave nectar, fresh ginger (microplaned), soy sauce, garlic, lime juice and lime zest, and my freshly plucked cilantro.  The lime  just shone through in this dressing and it blended up super quick in the Vita Mix.  Besides the delicious sauce this salad was packed with colorful veggies, cukes, carrots and red pepper.  It was nice enough to dine outside again but I ended up on the couch in front of the TV.  I pulled out my LOST dvds because I wanted to watch the “Adam and Eve” episode that they flashed back to on Tuesday night.  I can’t believe I’ve been watching this show for six years, usually I lose interest in TV. I’m much more of a book fiend.  I have to ride this one out to the end though!

From the dirt to the salad spinner

I looked high and low for chop sticks and couldn’t find any so I was relegated to a fork

And just look what I found growing in my garden…my first tomato

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

