Stop and Smell the Roses

You know that old saying, “stop and smell the roses” today on my six-miler I stopped and smelled everything that I normally rush by not paying attention to in my air-conditioned car.  That’s one of the beauties of running or walking through town.  I was hit with the almost cloyingly sweet smell of gardenia bushes on practically every block, but besides that I smell the briny, fishy smell of the Colorado Lagoon as I approached.  There was the slightly burnt coffee smell emanating from the Coffee Cup Cafe and the air was redolent with fried food scent as I cruised by Belmont Burgers.  I even caught a whiff of the paint the painters were using on the nursing home I ran by.  With all the odors I encountered and the calories burned I was a little hungry when I walked through the door.  It was such a sunshiny day that I decided to make a sunshiny lunch to go along with it.  I picked some fresh lettuce , rosemary and basil from the garden.  Then whipped up some white bean hummus in the Vita Mix.  I threw the basil in the hummus for flavor and a dash of color.  Next a salad of lettuce, avocado, an orange and a strawberry was mixed up.  I dressed the salad with fresh lime juice and a splash of olive oil, along with a pinch of ground black pepper.  Along with the hummus I served some Dr. Krackers, Cherry Semolina, those things are delish.  I haven’t been too crazy about some of the other flavors of these crackers but I this one!

Sunshine Salad

White bean hummus with basil and Dr Krackers

And my lovely bouquet from little sis for my graduation

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

