Mean People Suck

Sleeping in was the decision that was made this morning…an afternoon run sounded infinitely more appealing than running on the treadmill at 4:00 a.m.  So after work I set off on my 5 miler…I enjoyed all the Jacaranda trees in bloom as I ran through the nearby neighborhoods.  I’m sure they’re not fun for the people who have to clean up all the sticky blossoms from their yards but for the walkers and runners it’s a veritable lavender fairyland as you cruise along under the flowering umbrella.  I reached my halfway point and started on my loop back home, I waited at traffic light, not jogging in place since Runners World let me know that’s totally uncool and unnecessary to boot.  When I got the little white walk man signal I started across the 7 lanes of traffic to get to the other side (similar to the chicken).  I had made it about halfway and the red don’t walk guy started flashing at me and the countdown started, I still had plenty of time to make it across.  I glanced over my shoulder to make sure there were no left turners that may be about to run me over and to my surprise there was a silver van left turning right into my path.  I picked up the pace and they zipped behind me nearly taking my ponytail with them.  Then to add insult to injury the passenger screamed out the window of the van, “It says don’t walk you F…ing idiot.”  So I guess as soon as that don’t walk guy starts flashing you should stop immediately in your tracks and wait for the next car to run you over.  I’m glad I wasn’t walking since I may not have even made it as far across the road as I did.  My question is, Why are people so angry that they have to yell expletives at strangers for no good reason?  Even if I had been in the wrong why yell and swear at someone?  Being the sensitive bag of feelings that I am I felt like crying and the joy of the run and the jacarandas left me.  I know I shouldn’t allow others bad behavior to ruin my day but it makes me sad that we can treat others that way!

Jacarandas before “the incident”, I’m sure they looked the same afterwards, they just weren’t as enjoyable to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

