Tofu and Veggies

I had a block of tofu in my fridge that said, “Best by 06/12/10”, I figured it was safe to eat today but if I waited any longer I would end up throwing it out and I hate to throw out a pound of tofu just because I’ve been too lazy to cook.  I decided to try the Chile Cornmeal-Crusted Tofu from Vecon, since I had a bag of cornmeal in the freezer from a casserole I made a few weeks ago.  I’m not really one who uses a lot of cornmeal, maybe I should start breading and deep-frying stuff…that uses cornmeal, huh?  Anyway, I thought I would put more of it to use and it sounded good.  The recipe is simple, just dredge the tofu in a soy milk. cornstarch mixture, then dip it in the cornmeal spice.  Spritz with a bit of oil…I used olive oil in my very cool oil spray bottle that I got last year while Christmas shopping (always get yourself a gift so you don’t get jealous, ya know?).  So once the tofu was all dredged and spritzed it was popped into the oven along with a pan of broccoli, carrots and baby potatoes that were seasoned with salt, pepper, and a bit of smoked paprika, luv that stuff!  The tofu was delicious…very firm and meaty texture with a spicy, crispy crust that stayed intact.  Kind of a mcnugget type presentation, and I mean that in a good way!

Soy milk and cornstarch in a special “vegan” bowl

Then the crumbs (in another “vegan” bowl btw).  I used lemon zest instead of lime, still tasted good!

Then deliciousness, served up with the last of my Peachee Bundabergs

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

