A Running Kind of Day

Twelve miles was on the schedule for tomorrow but I decided to switch my long run to today since D. is working and N. is gone for the weekend.  I was up early anyway so I jumped into my running gear after I put a little fuel in the body first, and took off running.  This is the first time I’ve used the Buddy Runner app that I downloaded to my Droid.  I decided to just do an out and back instead of trying a loop and I knew I wanted to run along the beach path which I’ve always had a hard time tracking my mileage on.  Buddy Runner is super simple, just open the app and start your workout.  Every 1/2 mile it alerts you to how far you’ve gone, how long you’ve been running, and what your pace is.  Afterwards you can save your workout which always comes in handy.  It was definitely worth the price tag of, FREE!  It was a great overcast morning to be running at the beach.  School’s out so there were flocks of junior lifeguards, beach volleyball teams, and dragon boat teams out warming up and practicing.  I saw a bunch of Sole Runners formerly known as Beach Runners which was the group I ran and trained with for the Long Beach Marathon a few years ago.  The coaches, Steve and Gary, are the best and the after run yoga is always great.  I wonder if they still do that?  I pondered joining them again this year but then decided not to because I find it hard to join every Saturday run when N’s at home with me.  I loaded my water bottle with ice and poured in a coconut water.  On the way back I had to stop at a drinking fountain to fill up my bottle again, the sun had come out in all its blazing glory by that time.  When I got home I was starving so I threw together an Amazing smoothie in the trusty Vita Mix.  A package of Amazing Meal Pomegranate Mango Infusion, mixed with a cup of Simply Orange juice, some frozen mango, and crushed ice…very thick and refreshing, I served it in a bowl with a sprinkle of granola and a drizzle of coconut butter, and enjoyed it under the morning sun.

Before I go for a long run I always like to make sure I have a small meal that contains, protein, carbs, and a touch of fat.  This morning it was Walnut Bread, with a bit of Almond Flax butter from TJ’s and a blob of Crofter’s Morello cherry.  It set well while I was running and that’s always important…nothing like a side ache or digestive issues when you’re far from home with nothing but your feet to get you back!

Pre run

During Run

Post run

Leave a comment

Filed under Beverages

Leave a Reply

