Tree Huggin’ Hippy

To add to the back to nature theme of my life right now I decided to make some granola to top my soy greek yogurt (which is draining in the fridge even as we speak).  It’s hard to find a good granola that’s made without honey.   I usually fall back on Galaxy Granola’s Not Sweet Vanilla but to be honest it’s a little to crunchy and not enough clumpy for me.  It is lower in fat than most granolas and as the name proclaims, not too sweet, both of which I like, but still, I thought I could do better by making it myself.  I still think I would like it if was a little clumpier but the taste of this stuff was just fine!  So here’s what I did:

Vegan Granola

4 cups Bob’s Extra Thick Rolled Oats

1 cup Mariani Berry Thrive (a mix of dried cranberries, cherries, and blueberries)

1/2 cup whole raw almonds

1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds

1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds

1/4 cup Kretschmer’s Wheat Germ

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 cup canola oil

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a jelly roll pan or large baking dish with parchment paper.  Mix oats, fruit, nuts, wheat germ, and spices in a large bowl.  Whisk oil and maple syrup together until blended.  Pour oil mixture over oat mixture.  Spread in an even layer on your pan.  Bake for about 45 minutes stirring occasionally.  Let cool and store in an airtight container.

Mix the dry stuff together

Pour on the wet stuff and put it in a pan

Bake it for a while and then cool it down and put it in a jar

Eat it and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

