It’s Mango Time

Last summer I couldn’t get enough mangos, I ate at least one every day after one of D’s customers gave him one as a tip.  He didn’t wasnt it so I ended up with it and it started a bad (good) habit.  I didn’t feel to bad about them after I read:

mangos, mangoes, mango, mangoe, gift fruit, mango recipes. mangoe gift fruit, mangos for your health, mango gourmet fruit, mango tropical fruitMangos are an excellent source of Vitamins A and C, as well as a good source of Potassium and contain beta carotene.

mangos, mangoes, mango, mangoe, gift fruit, mango recipes. mangoe gift fruit, mangos for your health, mango gourmet fruit, mango tropical fruitMangos are high in fiber, but low in calories (approx. 110 per average sized mango), fat (only 1 gram) and sodium.

mangos, mangoes, mango, mangoe, gift fruit, mango recipes. mangoe gift fruit, mangos for your health, mango gourmet fruit, mango tropical fruitMangos are a good staple for your daily diet.

I was used to the sort of dry tasting mango that comes pre-cut in the market…even Whole Foods mango didn’t cut it.  So when I bit into the sweet, almost candy sweet, mango that D gave me I fell in love.  It was dessert in a yellow suit.  My tastes run more towards apples and pears in the Winter but with the first day of summer almost a week behind us I broke out the summer fruit, and mango was at the top of the list.  I added it to a cold noodle salad tonight along with basil and cilantro from the garden, carrots and green onion from the CSA, a sprinkle of peanuts, and a cool dressing of lime juice, hot red pepper, brown sugar and soy sauce.  It was loosely based on a VT recipe from a few years back, but I had to improvise because I didn’t have all the ingredients and I only had Udon noodles to use.  It was tasty for sure, and I loved the sweet mango with the bite of pepper, and the soft blandness of the noodles (hey, sometimes bland is good).

Red pepper, red cutting board…hot stuff.

Noodle salad in my uber cute Noodle Bowl, served with a chilled glass of white

Salad close up, sorry the noodles blinked, and the carrots wouldn’t smile

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

