Fresh From the Garden Ratatouille

With a proliferating garden and a new box from Farm Fresh to You it only stands to reason that my dinner consisted of a big ol’ mess of veggies.  I can’t believe I got more zucchini in my shipment this week…I guess their garden is as overrun with the stuff as mine.  I threw together a very simple ratatouille consisting of eggplant, bell pepper, zucchini, and basil all from my garden and tomatoes, and oregano from the CSA.  I seasoned with a bit of crushed garlic and onion and a sprinkle of salt and pepper at the end.  To make it more of a meal I steamed some tempeh and tossed that in too; nontraditional but yummy just the same.  Even though it’s been overcast and gloomy most of the day, the sun finally came out about 4:00 just in time for me to enjoy my dinner ala patio.  With a Hibiscus Ooba to sip…question…What’s with all the hibiscus products these days?  Everything from tea to ice cream is flavoring itself with hibiscus.  According to Sonia, The tender leaves are emollient (soothing the mucus lining), diuretic (treating fluid retention), refrigerant (cooling especially if you feel the heat on hot days) also have a sedative calming effect on the whole system. The fruits are anti-scorbutic, meaning they are high in vitamin C.  I just think the Ooba drinks taste good and if I get a little extra C with that..well, I’ll take it.  Bottoms Up!

Pile O’ veggies

Ratatouille En plein air

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

