A Chilly Dinner

Who says a smoothie in a bowl is for breakfast only?  Especially when you have a crafty new bowl, hand-made by Mark Blumenfeld; a brand new jar of Artisana Coconut Butter, and a fresh batch of granola, this all just cries out to be whipped into a smoothie frenzy.  Into the Vita Mix went orange juice, Amazing Meal pomegranate mango infusion, frozen mango, and crushed ice (love my new crushed ice making fridge).  Less than a minute later I was christening my new bowl with this frozen mess.  Topped with a handful of granola and a drizzle of coconut butter it was a fulfilling dinner!  Now a few words about my granola making last night.  N. was late coming home so I was keeping myself busy and very often that means baking or cooking.  I had run out of granola and decided not to make anymore because I just end up eating it (I know, what else am I supposed to do with it, but you know what I mean), but with the new bowl and all I decided granola needed to be made.  I was running low on canola oil which I usually use but had some coconut oil left over from the coconut birthday cupcakes so I thought I would utilize that as the fat.  Well, I warmed it carefully over low heat and then stirred in the maple syrup all lovingly before pouring it over my oat, buckwheat, wheat germ, nuts, coconut mixture.  Hello, I keep all my granola ingredients in the freezer to keep them fresh so as soon as that melted fat hit the ice-cold grains and nut it hardened up faster than…well you get the idea.  I stirred the lumpy mess around for a bit then just stuck the whole thing in the oven and waited for it to melt down again.  Stirring the granola every 10 minutes helped and it turned out great in spite of my foolishness.  All’s well that ends well!

Leave a comment

Filed under Beverages

Leave a Reply

