Giant Donut Cake

Happy Birthday Mom and Dad.  I was in charge of bringing the cake to the family get together this afternoon and didn’t have a clue what I was going to bake.  I perused The Joy of Vegan Baking for inspiration and settled on the chocolate cake with chocolate frosting.  Mainly because my family loves chocolate and I had all the ingredients without having to make a grocery run.  I pulled out my springform pan which I believe I haven’t used in the last 10 years but still hang on to for just such occasions as these.  I mixed everything up and dipped my finger in the batter before pouring it into the pan and thank goodness I did; I had forgotten to add the sugar!  So I dumped in the sugar, remixed and panned it then into the oven it went.  Thirty minutes late I was pulling out a delicious smelling but barely risen chocolate cake.  When I unpanned it it resembled a chocolate donut.  Disappointed but running out of time I whipped up the chocolate frosting and piled it on.  I had a dark chocolate bar in the fridge so I grated a bit on top because it was looking a little pathetic.  When all was said and done I had a giant chocolate sprinkle donate for the birthday festivities.  I don’t know if people felt sorry for me or what but there wasn’t a crumb left at the end of the day.  I don’t know if it was the sugar add in or just the general characteristics of that cake that made it so flat but I’ll try it again and hopefully remember to add everything at the beginning.  I skipped the cake because of the detoxing thing, I didn’t think sugar was the best thing to eat during a detox.

Springform and recipe ready to go

So busy showing off my sifting skills that I forgot the sugar.  Kind of like trying to make hot chocolate with unsweetened cocoa powder.  Ever do that as a kid?

The giant donut…on the “You Are Special Today” plate that I break out for such occasions.

Detox lunch…Chinese Chicken salad sans chicken; fruit, and TJ’s flax chips.  Yes I know the chips really aren’t detox but I needed a little salty crunch with my meal.  Don’t judge, this is my detox!

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

