Beet Me Up

But before you beet me up I have to say it is so nice to be home and cooking three meals in my own kitchen; well granted they weren’t all “cooked”, I should say putting together three squares!  This morning my ankle was still kind of sore from the walk and rather than agravating a stress injury, I skipped the gym.  That and the fact that I had a terrible nights sleep and had to be on a call at 6:00.  Really not making excuses because I had really looked forward to getting back to the gym.  Even though I said I was going to phase out the smoothie in a bowl thing, that’s what sounded good to me this morning so into the Vita Mix went some OJ, a scoop of Amazing Meal, frozen strawberries, mango, and banana; that all plopped into a bowl and got topped with a spoonful of Ezekiel Almond Cereal and another spoonful of Artisana Coconut Butter.  Whew, was that ever good.  It powered me out the door and I was in the office by six!  Lunch was a sandwich of Chipotle Hummus, cuke, tomato, and lettuce, on the side some cantaloupe from my last CSA shipment.  Now we get down to the beeting.  I am going to admit right off I’m not the biggest fan of beets so when I got three good size ones from Farm Fresh to You I wondered what I was going to do with them.  During my meal planning I looked specifically for recipes to make sure I used up all my produce.  Even though I compost I hate to throw stuff out.  How it All Vegan had a recipe for Garden Vegetable Borscht which looked fully loaded with veggies including my beets…Duh, Borscht!  It certainly was colorful cooking up red, onion carrot, beets, garlic, tomatoes, spinach and cabbage.  I had planned on some garlicky chard but with all those veggies I didn’t feel I needed anymore.  It got topped with some Follow Your Heat vegan sour cream with fresh-baked biscuits from the same cookbook on the side.  This stuff was seriously good and filling.  The soup was only seasoned with pepper and a spoonful of horseradish but that was just enough.  the veggies were firm and the broth thick.  It may actually go on my repeat list.  And even though N. ate two big bowls of it, there is enough left over for lunch tomorrow!

 

Some kinda colorful

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

