Table for 1 Please

After a long drive and a long day in Thousand Oaks I broke up the drive home and stopped in at Native Foods Cafe on my way home.  The fare at the office cafe was less than enticing and I ended up with a trail mix bar and a diet coke for lunch.  By the time class ended and I was back on the freeway and in all that is glorious Southern California traffic my stomach started grumbling at me.  Now dining alone in a restaurant is not really my bag, but I had the Kindle and NF is so casual and single friendly that I didn’t feel the least bit weird.  Well that’s not really true because  I always feel a bit weird, I just didn’t feel any weirder than usual, ya know?  The Westwood location of Native Foods is pretty close to the freeway so I popped off on Wilshire and was soon in front of an:

Oklahoma Bacon Cheeseburger
Our thinly sliced original Seitan, melted cheddar, caramelized onions, crispy tempeh bacon on a bun slathered with BBQ sauce and ranch dressing, lettuce, carrots, onions, and tomato and topped with crunchy battered dill pickles chips.  9.95

With a side of sweet potato fries and a lightly agave sweetened ice tea I was good for the rest of the cruise home.  The fries were extremely delicious, crispy and salty and sweet, and I did my best to finish them but knew I would burst if I did.  I even signed up for their rewards card which gives me an excuse to go back, again and again.  Many things on the menu left to try…I almost took a cupcake home they looked so darn cute…next time, next time.

Just admire the tower of deep fried dill pickle chips perched on top of this masterpiece!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dining Out

Leave a Reply

