Oatmeal Ala Rice Cooker

Remember the Amazing Mumford; the Sesame Street magician who performed magic with the words “Ala peanut butter sandwiches”?  I still use that phrase when I come upon something particularly magical, like making oatmeal in a rice cooker and have it magically appear for breakfast, piping hot just exactly when you’re ready for it.  I love that I can dump everything into my Zojirushi rice cooker, set the timer for when I want it to be done and then go to bed, get up, go to the gym, shower and voila…ala peanut butter sandwiches, breakfast is served.  I made enough for N and me for breakfast and an extra serving for one of us tomorrow morning.

Into the pot went:

  • 1/2 c of steel-cut oats
  • 1/4 c of Bob’s Apple Cinnamon and Grains hot cereal
  • 1 ripe banana, chopped
  • 1/2 c canned organic pumpkin
  • 1 T chia seeds for an omega burst
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 3 c water

This morning it got served up with a dollop of Cranberry Apple butter from Trader Joe’s, another of soy yogurt, and a sprinkle of toasted pecan bits.  It was awesome.  Too bad it was hotter than blazes today.  The Santa Ana winds have arrived bringing the last hurrah of summer and a flurry of sneezing!

The night before

This morning, that dollop of yogurt looks bigger than I remember and clearly I sprinkled the pecans on after I took the picture.

And for lunch a beautiful pear and greens salad with another sprinkle of pecans.  This time you can see them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

