Vegan Mofo – Day 1 A Muffin is Born

I’m starting the MoFo with a recipe and an ode to my vintage kitchen gadgets that I find indispensable.  The two bananas leftover from last weeks grocery shopping trip were looking decidedly tired.  This always leads me to a batch of banana muffins or banana bread.  I don’t know why I don’t think about freezing a couple of bananas for smoothies when I first bring them home but I don’t so don’t judge.  So anyway, these tired bananas wanted to be made into muffins (easier to give away, easier to pack and go) usually I go for a little chocolate with my banana but I went traditional and baked up Banana Walnut Muffins.  These are my old standby basic muffins that allow for all kinds of additions depending on what’s in the cupboard or fruit bowl when muffin mania strikes. 

I like the hands on part of baking and cooking and even though I have some electric gadgets I seem to always fall back on my vintage ones that I’ve picked up at various antique and thrift stores over the years.  My muffin pan itself is the same one I’ve been turning out muffins and cupcakes in for the past 33 years…it was once shiny and new but it still wins out over my new fangled silicone pan (don’t you like the phrase “new-fangled”, it makes me seem like some ancient granny slaving over her wood stove!).  For this particular batch of muffins I used my potato masher to mash the bananas, my egg beater to whip the liquids into a frenzy, my ice cream scoop to measure out just the right amount of bananaie batter into each halloween themed muffin paper, and said beat up muffin pan.  If only these had been passed down to me by my grandma, but I’m sure some grandma is smiling down on me as their kitchen gadget feeds yet another generation.

Banana Muffins

2 cups flour, I like to use half whole wheat pastry flour and half all-purpose

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup sugar

1/3 c canola oil

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1/4 cup non-dairy milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup chopped walnuts

Sift the flour, baking soda and salt together.  I like to use my whisk to fluff it up afterwards.  Beat the sugar and oil together, then add the banana, non-dairy milk, and vanilla and beat again until well blended.  Make a well in the center of your fluffed dry ingredients and pour the liquids in the center.  Fold gently until incorporated but it will still be lumpy.  Fold in the walnuts.  Scoop into lined or greased muffin tins and bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

Vintage kitchen gadgets…except the whisk.  Even the bowl that the flour is in came from my grandma’s Sunbeam stand mixer.

Ice Cream scoop perfect for making muffins of just the right size (kind of like Goldilocks)

Muffins – – notice the pan.  Not a finer pan anywhere!

2 Comments

Filed under Vegan Baking

2 responses to “Vegan Mofo – Day 1 A Muffin is Born

  1. Mo

    That muffin sounds SO good!

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review | It's Just So Daily – The ups and downs of a vegan life

Leave a Reply

