Smoothie Day

Another HOT day in SoCal, 96 degrees in my lovely neighborhood.  It’s times like this that I wish I had an air-conditioned office to go to.  Talk to me in a month when we have 10 straight days of rain and I’ll be singing a different tune (and it won’t be “Singin’ in the Rain).  My appetite for anything cooked, or hot (cup o’ coffee anyone?) disappears on days like this and I crave salads and iced tea and cool fruity smoothies.  And that’s exactly what I ate today…

Mango Smoothie in a Bowl for breakfast

Into the Vita Mix went:

  • 8 oz of orange juice
  • 1 scoop of Amazing Meal Pomegranate Mango Infusion
  • 1/2 c of frozen mango chunks (about 1/2 cup, I really didn’t measure)
  • 1/2 c of crushed ice (thank you new refrigerator with the magic ice crusher!)

Blended until the consistency of soft serve and then dumped into a fabulous bowl to make it seem special.  I topped it with a handful of Ezekiel Almond cereal (kind of a grape-nuts vibe to it) and a drizzle of coconut butter which was just a the right consistency since it’s been so hot!  Good start to the day.

Fabulous cherry bowl…everything tastes better when served up in a special dish!

Along comes lunch time and temps are soaring so into the Vita Mix for a Pumpkin Pie Smoothie in a Bowl went:

  • 8 oz of soy milk
  • 1/2 c of canned organic pumpking from Trader Joe’s
  • 1 packet of Vega Vanilla Chai Spice
  • 1/2 c of crushed ice

Topped with a sprinkle of walnuts which I was too lazy to even chop and a spoonful of Cranberry Apple Butter from Trader Joe’s.  I think what I’m going to do is freeze the rest of the pumpkin in an ice-cube tray and use the frozen chunks to make smoothies.  The lunch time smoothie was a little watery and I think that would thicken things up a bit.

Vita Mix, loaded and ready to rumble.

Voila…looks like a blob of ketchup on top doesn’t it?

Tonight…Salad ala pear and pom.

1 Comment

Filed under Beverages

One response to “Smoothie Day

  1. It’s still hot here in Spain. Getting chilly at night time though.

Leave a Reply

