MoFo #5 – Chilaquiles

How come some mornings you wake up just starving, stomach rumbling like a 4.0 earthquake.  Today was just such a morning, and when I’m hungry like that I want a protein breakfast.  Protein seems to stick with me longer than a carb breakfast like cereal, so as much as I  loves me some oatmeal in the morning this was not one of those mornings.  Plus it was supposed to heat up to the mid-80’s today.  A quick inventory of the cupboard and fridge and I decided on some Chilaquiles.  It seems that every family has their own version of this comfort/hangover dish and sometimes it’s referred to as Migas in certain Tex-Mex areas.  I could be all wrong about this as I’m Scandinavian but I’ve eaten many  restaurant and home-cooked versions of chilaquiles and they’re all similar and all delicious.  Here’s what went into my pan this morning:

Vegan Chilaquiles

  • 4 corn tortillas cut in strips or triangles
  • 2 T. olive oil (approximately, I pour, I don’t measure)
  • 1/2 an onion, chopped
  • 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 lb super firm tofu (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/4 tsp chile powder
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 12 oz jar Salsa Verde (also T.J.’s)
  •  1 leftover black bean burger crumbled (this crumbled up nicely after bein in the fridge all night.  You could also use a can of black beans or pinto beans)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (even if it’s sweltering outside, do this!).  Cut or tear your tortillas into bite size strips or triangles and spread out evenly on a cookie sheet.  I use parchment paper on my pan.  Pop it in the oven for 20 to 30 minutes until you have some crispy chips.  You may wonder why you do this when you’re just going to dump the chips into a sauce where they’ll get all soggy but this step keeps them from disintegrating in the sauce, trust me on this.  Saute the onion in the olive oil until soft, add the tomatoes and seasonings and simmer for 10 minutes.  Crumble in your block of tofu and dump in your jar of salsa.  Let everything heat through for 5 minutes or so.  It should be bubbling gently along.  Lastly add your crispy tortillas to the pan.  You could use bagged tortilla chips too, if that’s what you have.  Just adjust the salt to account for the salty chips.  Let it simmer for about 15 minutes, the sauce should be reduced and the chips soggy but still in whole pieces.

Serve it up in your favorite vegan dish, if you’re lucky enough to have a whole set like I do you can invite friends to share.  This makes enough for 4 or 5 people.  You can top it with some Daiya or vegan cheese of your choice and/or non-dairy sour cream.  I had neither so that was that. 

Tortillas, cut in strips and ready to be crispified

Chilaquiles for breakfast

2 Comments

Filed under Vegan Cooking

2 responses to “MoFo #5 – Chilaquiles

  1. Thanks for the recipe and great pics!

    Happy MoFo’ing!

  2. Mo

    You know, I’ve never had chilaquiles before and I really want to try them now!

Leave a Reply

