Vegan Mofo #7 – Banana Waffles

By the end of the week, just before my weekly trek to the grocery store, I’m always left with a couple of bananas that are heading south.  I like my bananas yellow but with maybe a hint of green at the tip.  When they start getting spotted they’re ready to be baked.  You would think that I’d just buy few bananas or freeze a couple as soon as I get home but that just seems too easy, doesn’t it.  Sunday morning two such bananas were in the fruit bowl and banana waffles were on my mind.  I have a Belgian waffler so one waffle makes a meal and usually my recipes make only three or four.  N. was being lazy yesterday morning too so he powered down two of these things which left me only one to throw in the freezer. 

My standard recipe using my favorite oatmeal ingredients:

Banana Oatmeal Waffles

  • 1 cup flour (I like to use whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup rolled oats (not the quick cooking or instant variety.  Whole rolled oats add a nice texture to these)
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup non dairy milk
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3 T. canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Sift the dry ingredients, except oats, together.  Add the oatmeal and stir gently to incorporate.  In a separate bowl mix the mashed banana with the milk, syrup, oil, and vanilla.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour the liquids in.  Fold together gently, don’t overmix.  Heat your waffle iron and let the batter rest while it heats up.  Once your waffler is heated pour in the batter and cook according to your waffle maker’s instructions.  Serve with maple syrup and Earth Balance.   Makes about 4 Belgian waffles, probably makes more regular waffles but I don’t have a regular waffler to know exactly how many, surprise yourself.

Mixin’ the batter, makin’ a mess!

Looks like I dumped a bowl of oatmeal onto the waffler

and then…wait

for the beep and then…this

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

