MoFo #11 – Hummus

What’s a MoFo without Hummus.  That quintessential vegan dish that adapts itself to whatever flavor the chef is craving at the moment.  I had some fresh cilantro from my CSA so I whipped up a batch with just a hint of cilantro.  I like to make hummus in small batches because 1) I have a little tiny food processor, and 2) if I make large batches I end up eating it all (at once that is).  So instead of using the Vita Mix to get things pulverized, which by the way works perfectly fine but clean-up is a little more time-consuming, I put everything in my little Kitchen Aid Food Chopper and pulse away.  This is what went into the mix today:

Cilantro Hummus

  • 1 can of organic garbanzo beans (or call ’em chickpeas if you’re really cool), drained and rinsed
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 3 T tahini
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 T cilantro leaves
  • a dash of cumin
  • salt and black pepper to taste

Place everything in the bowl of a food processor and pulse and blend until smooth or whatever consistency you like your hummus.  Serve with fresh veggie sticks or pita.  Or put a big blob on your noontime salad.

This is about how smooth I like it, a bit of texture to it.

Makes just enough to fit into my cute little vintage Pyrex dish (and not make a pig of myself).

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

