MoFo #13 Autumn Harvest Salad

On a lazy morning recently we caught Chef Joseph Gillard of the Napa Valley Grille making an Autumn Harvest Salad on the morning news.  It looked like something I might want to try for Thanksgiving and my philosophy is to never try a new dish the day you’re going to be serving it.  I’ve had some disasters that I wouldn’t serve to anyone including the cats.  My first attempt ended up with tiny charred pumpkin pieces, not a good start.  This go round I used a butternut squash I had from my CSA delivery last week.  It turned out rather tasty this time, I might say.  Here’s what I did:

Autumn Harvest Salad

Salad

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 2 cups brussel sprouts
  • 1/2 c pomegranate seeds

Dressing

  • 2 T cider vinegar
  • 1/4 c olive oil
  • 1 small shallot, finely chopped or minced
  • sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Topping

  • 3 T pepitas
  • 1/4 tsp curry powder

Roast the squash and brussel sprouts for 30 minutes at 400 degrees.  Peel and cube the squash.  Toss gently with the brussel sprouts and pomegranate seeds.  Whisk dressing ingredients together.  Pour over squash mixture and refrigerate.  Toast pepitas with curry powder in a hot skillet until lightly browned.  Sprinkle over salad before serving.

Naked squash….please turn away!

A shallot vinegrette

I love the colors and flavors in this salad!

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

