MoFo #19 – Cilantro Pesto and Some Good Oatmeal

Despite the title of this post the cilantro pesto did not go into the good oatmeal…two totally separate meals.  Starting with breakfast, it was chiiiiiillly this morning.  After the gym I just couldn’t seem to warm up even after two cups of hot tea.  That’s when I decided oatmeal in the rice cooker was in order.  Into the cooker went:

Set your rice cooker to the porridge setting and go take a shower and get ready for your day.  When I finished getting ready my house smelled all spicy and inviting like a Christmas cookie.  I topped my bowl with a few walnuts, a blob of Trader Joe’s Cranberry Butter and a swirl of pure maple syrup.  If that doesn’t warm you up I don’t know what will.  And bonus…enough left over for tomorrow for N. or me.

Vanilla sugar that I bought at World Market because it looked interesting.  It added just a very mild vanilla flavor to my oatmeal.

From this…

to this…with just the push of a button.  Love the rice cooker!

On to dinner, which had to be simple, because that’s just how I roll.  Into the Vita Mix went:

  • 1 bunch of cilantro leaves (a few stems included)
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 c walnuts
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 T Parma (Vegan Parmesan which is really just walnuts, nooch and salt – – so you could just substitute nooch here)
  • water if needed to thin out

I threw a handful of grape tomatoes, some onion, and celery and a touch of olive oil in a pan while I cooked up some noodles (ww spaghetti).  Once the spaghetti was done it was tossed in a bowl and topped with pesto and the tomato.  Delicious!  So there you have it breakfast and dinner 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

