National Oatmeal Month

Did you know it’s National Oatmeal Month?  This was news to me, but then again I lead a sheltered life.  And oddly enough I just learned that McDonald’s is starting to serve oatmeal, alas it is not vegan so I’ll not be partaking.  I’m an oatmeal kind of breakfast person, when I’m not sucking down a smoothie, so this got me thinking about the different ways you can enjoy oatmeal.  Picture me as Bubba saying, “There’s oatmeal hot in a bowl, oatmeal cookies, oatmeal granola, baked oatmeal, pan-seared oatmeal, and the list goes on”.  I chose to make it hot and bubblin’ in my rice cooker this morning.  I added a banana that came home in N’s lunch bag looking a little worse for wear but edible nonetheless.  After the charming cooker played it’s little “I’m all done” melody I topped it with some blueberries, toasted almonds, and a half a packet of Justin’s Maple Almond butter that I had purchased for traveling awhile back.  Just the perfect morning meal.  I’ll have to incorporate oatmeal into more recipes this month since someone felt it was awesome enough to give it it’s very own month.  Here are some other things you can do with oatmeal, and a list of 10 reasons you should eat it to begin with.  Let’s get our oatmeal groove on in January (really, I never say the word groove I don’t know why I thought I could get away with it now)!

The breakfast bowl.  And check out the handle of the cute spoon poking out of it.  The cats got me a set of mismatched silverware called Cutensils (how adorable is that) from ModCloth for Christmas.  They’re quite the excellent on-line shoppers and who cares if they have trouble with fur and tape, it’s the thought that counts, right?

2 Comments

Filed under Vegan Cooking

2 responses to “National Oatmeal Month

  1. I love, love oatmeal! Thanks for all the ideas. . . and your bowl looks yummy. 🙂

  2. I love love love oatmeal! I was not aware it was it’s time in the sun (it’s always it’s time in the sun at my house, hehehe.) The other day I made the banana oat smoothie from Martha Stewart’s whole living website. I seasoned mine with agave, used almond milk and soy yogurt, and threw in some chia seeds and man-o-man it was good.
    http://www.wholeliving.com/photogallery/smoothies#slide_20
    And sorry it took me so long, but I wanted to say thanks for stopping by my blog last week. I enjoyed your story, even if your coworkers didn’t like your “vulgar” food. Go you for loving your body through nutritious food!

Leave a Reply

