On Dieting

I read an interesting article in the paper today.  It said, in part,

“It turns out our obsession with weight and how to lose it dates back at least 150 years. And while now we say “overweight” instead of “corpulent” – and now that obesity has become epidemic – a look back at dieting history shows what hasn’t changed is the quest for an easy fix.

“We grossly, grossly underestimate” the difficulty of changing behaviors that fuel obesity, says Clemson University sociologist Ellen Granberg, who examined archives at the Library of Congress. She believes it’s important to show “we’re not dealing with some brand-new, scary phenomenon we’ve never dealt with before.””

Do you like that word, corpulent, I think it sounds fatter than obese.  The bottom line of the article is that while we have been weight obsessed in the USA for more than 100 years we are continually getting larger and larger.  As someone who has been hyper-aware of my weight since my early teens I’m growing weary of diets and diet plans and diet surgery ad nauseam.  I also understand how complex the relationship to food is.  It’s very easy for someone to pontificate on only using the most pure, unadulterated foods to fuel the body, but the truth is there are many emotional and personal issues that led someone down the road to obesity.  If it was as easy and stopping when you were full, why then no one would have a problem.  In 1903 La Parle made an “obesity soap” that “never fails to reduce flesh; something called “Bile Beans” was nothing more than a laxative.  I’m not sure I would have tried the beans, but I could have gotten behind a bar of soap that washed away my fat.  All that for a dollar that probably took a whole week to earn.  And this was all before we were planted like zombies in front of computers and TV’s. 

How do we change?  If I had the answer to that question I would not be working for Mr. Corporation these days.  I can only continue to try to figure out what works for me…Which brings me to my sandwich lunch today.  Look at me changing up my sandwich filling two days in a row, told you, I live on the edge.  Today it was Three Pepper Hummus.  Normally I like to make my own hummus but this is a tasty alternative, with a pile o’ greens and some tomato.  If only I’d had an avocado it could have been perfect!

I know, it looks suspiciously like yesterdays sandwich, but trust me…

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

