ABC’s of Oatmeal

I’ve noticed some healthy living bloggers chronicle their daily bowl of oatmeal and I take inspiriation from each one of them.  Although I eat oatmeal 4 or 5 days a week it mostly looks the same every morning and I think it might get a little boring showing pictures of the same bowl day after day.  So unless I do something unusual with my oats I don’t usually document it.  But I do have some things that I consider musts for the perfect bowl of oatmeal and I think that may be blog worthy.  Here are my oatmeal fundamentals:

  • Must be cooked in my rice cooker — I have a Zojirushi with a porridge setting and it makes the perfect bowl of oats every time.
  • Must be steel-cut oats not rolled.  My personal preference is for the chewier texture of steel cut oats.  I often use King Arthur’s Pompanoosuc Porridge which is a mix of steel-cut oats, flax and flax-seed, and bulgur.  I’ve wanted to try to make my own mix like this but just haven’t started experimenting yet.
  • Must be made with 1/2 water and 1/2 non-dairy milk.  In the rice cooker this means 1/2 cup of oatmeal to 3 cups of liquid; so I use 1 1/2 cups water and 1 1/2 cups non-dairy milk, my favorites are almond and chocolate soy milk.
  • Must contain at least 1 fruit – – fresh or dried.  If dried I keep it to 1/4 cup.  Adding fruit allows the oats to become quite sweet without additional sweetener.
  • Must contain 1 tablespoon of chia seeds.  These tend to swell and give the oatmeal almost a pudding consistency.  Chia seeds have properties that slow the conversion of carbohydrates into sugar.
  • Must be topped with nuts or nut butter, or granola for crunch.

This morning I made AABBCC Oatmeal – – which is Almond Apple Banana Blueberry Cherry Chia Oatmeal.  Delicious as usual and the bonus part was I started it cooking in the rice cooker then left the house to go watch D play hockey and when I got home it was cooked and kept warm for me.

Apple, banana, chia, and dried cherries added prior to cooking.

Frozen blueberries and toasted chopped almonds added after

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

