A Coupon and a Review

I had a coupon for Annie Chun’s Soup Bowl so I thought I would give it a try.  It comes in its own bowl and the udon noodles are the soft variety not the flash fried ones that come in other soup bowls.  That was a nice touch.  You pour some hot water over the noodles and let them soften and separate for a minute.  Then you drain them and pop in the dehydrated veggie packet and the liquid seasoning that appeared to be just soy sauce but actually also contains shiitake mushroom extract*, seaweed extract, evaporated cane juice, rice wine, yeast extract.  You add 1 1/4 cups of water and pop it in the microwave for 90 seconds.  Rather than eating it out of the disposable bowl I had to bowl it up in my special Udon noodle bowl.

I have to say this was a pretty bland bowl of soup.  The few mushrooms floating in the broth were chewy rather than meaty.  I would have liked to add some more veggies and season it up a bit but that kind of defeats the purpose of an instant meal and I might as well have made a noodle soup from scratch.  In a pinch, this is a good filling yet light meal to have on hand in a desk drawer or maybe in a hotel when traveling.  But as standard fare in my house I’m going to pass.

Leave a comment

Filed under Shopping, Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

