Black-Eyed Peas Rewind

This post has nothing to do with Fergie, I just had black-eyed peas leftover from Mondays dinner so I had to find something to do with them or toss them.  I am so weird about leftovers, if they’re not eaten the next day they are gone.  Cooked leftover beans I try to freeze or use within a day or two (read: lots of hummus and bean dips).  Last night I made a Szechuan Black-Eyed Pea salad from Vegetarian Times Vegan Cookbook.  I really like this cookbook, by the way.  Even though I imagine you can find most of these recipes on their site, I like the pictures and organization of the book.  The salad had avocado, bell pepper, a whole jalapeno, and red onion; tossed with a vinaigrette that was spiced up with Szechuan sauce.  Be careful when buying this sauce as many brands that I looked at had honey or other non-vegan ingredients in them.  This salad had just the right spice even though it sounds like it would be really hot it wasn’t.  I served it over a big bowl of baby spinach and it was excellent, the soft avocado paired nicely with the crunch of the peppers and onions.  On my list of make agains.

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

