Chia – More than just a Pet

Well who knew that tiny little seeds that grow “hair” on a plethora of clay figures, including the ever popular Scooby Doo, can make a fantastic breakfast as well.  As it warms up the siren song of the oatmeal becomes less and less seductive and I crave something a little cooler, a little creamier…but, but…(I thed but-but) not a smoothie.  So what then, ice cream for breakfast?  While not a bad idea, I usually don’t have ice cream in the house and while overnight oats sounded ok it just wasn’t right either.  Goldilocks, whatever did you make then??  Please end the suspense.  Okay, what does Chia Pudding sound like to ya?  Starts those old salivary glands right up doesn’t it?  Well now, don’t judge until you try.  It’s cool and creamy and just what I wanted.  Into my snack mug went:

  • 2 T. Black chia seeds
  • 2 T. Bob’s Red Mill Muesli
  • 1 c. Vanilla Soy milk
  • 1 T. Almond butter

I let that set for a minute while I got ready to go to the gym.  Then gave it a quick stir and added a handful of frozen berries.  I had a mix of blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries from the farmer’s market last weekend, but I think any kind would taste good.  I would chop up strawberries though, kind of big to eat whole.  Popped it all in the fridge and went to the gym.  When I got back an hour or so later I had a thick lovely pudding to eat while I got to work answering email.  I know, I know, I shouldn’t eat while I work, but sometimes you just have to multi-task.

First it looked like this, all liquidy

Then the magic happened and it turned into this

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

