Happy Birthday Cupcakes

I can’t believe it’s been almost a year since we welcomed Special K into the family.  Next weekend his parents are throwing him the ever popular first birthday party, which is really just an excuse for grown-ups to get together and eat cake without feeling silly.  Like any good grandma I said I would make cupcakes for the event.  I thought it best I start experimenting with vanilla cupcakes as the few recipes I’ve made have been too dense and/or oily.  I just got Vegan Bake Sale and they had a beautiful looking vanilla bean cupcake, and guess what??? That’s exactly what I got a beautiful looking vanilla bean cupcake.  Actually the taste was okay too, very vanilla-ie, and it may have been my fault, I may have overbaked them but these things were pretty dry.  Back to the drawing board, tomorrow.

Things I’ve been reading and liking:

Carolyn at the lovely blog  Eat Well Live Well Be Well talks about giving up those things we hate doing but keep on doing because we think we should, or we might let someone down.  Really why are we always trying to live up to what we think others expectations of us might be?  Why do we continue to do things that just don’t feel right, true or authentically us??

Looking for all things Gluten Free???  Check out XGFX for resources, recipes, tutorials, even a list of sneaky gluten foods.

Still trying to find a way to keep the cats out of my raised beds.  Most articles and tips say use chicken wire.  Hmmm, think I’ll keep researching.

2 Comments

Filed under Vegan Baking

2 responses to “Happy Birthday Cupcakes

  1. Hi there,
    Glad you found my article interesting. It felt good to write, and even better to know that I’ve stopped doing something that doesn’t make me happy. If I can’t free myself who can?

    I hope the cupcake cooking goes well. I’m not adventurous when it comes to baking.

    Be well,
    Carolyn

  2. Pingback: $10 to Spend on Cupcakes - Deals2Inbox

Leave a Reply

