It’s a Holiday Again

Who forgot to tell me it’s National Chocolate Day today…What, you didn’t know either?  And here I am, alone and still sweaty in my gym clothes with not a bite of chocolate in the house.  Well, that’s not entirely true I do have some chocolate chips in the freezer, but I’ve never been able to eat a handful of chocolate chips right out of the bag.  Come to think of it I believe I have a half a bar of dark chocolate lurking in the egg holder thing in my fridge.  This is what you put in the egg holder thing if you don’t eat eggs.  Back to the National Holiday and all, since I have no edible chocolate in the house I’m just going to share the recipe for an excellent chocolate pie that I’ve made and fooled people with.  If you don’t like tofu, you will like it in this pie.  If you can’t eat soy, then just stop reading now and click next on your google reader.  Here you are:

Chocolate Ganache Pie (source: long forgotten, but it’s so easy after the first couple of times you won’t need a recipe.  If I’ve stolen your recipe, I apologize, my bad…no harm intended)

  • 1 prepared chocolate cookie crust – I think I used Keebler or Erewhon
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 12.3 oz package Mori Nu Silken Tofu – Firm
  • 1/2 cup Maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Melt the chocolate chips in a double boiler, or if you don’t have one put a small saucepan with your chocolate chips in a larger pan of hot water.  Be careful not to get water in the chocolate though or it will seize.  You could probably melt them in a glass dish in the microwave too, your choice, so many options.  I have a really cute mini double boiler just for this, I found it in an antique shop, like you needed to know that.  In the meantime, if you haven’t forgotten what you’re doing while reading these instructions, process the tofu, maple syrup, vanilla, and salt in a blender or food processor.  I always use the Vita Mix because I didn’t have a food processor, now that I do, I might just try that.  Add the melted chocolate to the tofu mixture in the blender and blend until smooth.  Pour into the crust and chill until firm, at least an hour.

See how easy that was?  I like strawberries or raspberries on top with a little whipped cream (SoyaToo).  It should look something like this when you’re done, and no, that is not me in the picture, although I do look a little like Alton Brown.

P.S. It’s also National Strawberry Sundae Day so if chocolate is not your thing, make yourself a Sundae, tell them I said so.

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

