What I Ate Wednesday

What, really, that title just doesn’t totally intrigue you and make you question the relevance of your own life?  I know when I read about every morsel that some other blogger ate in one day I am simply fascinated…so much so that  I have to run out and by each and every ingredient that passed said bloggers lips.  So why not, I asked myself.  And since I always give myself the answers I want to hear–Why not, indeed.

Here is what I ate today:

Breakfast – Green Smoothie in a Bowl.  The green part actually came out looking a little brownish due to a couple of strawberries that snuck in.

  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1 scoop unflavored protein powder
  • 1 cup frozen pineapple, mango, strawberry mix
  • 1 handful of baby spinach
  • a little crushed ice

All whipped up in the Vita Mix and topped with two tablespoons of Rip’s Big Bowl cereal mix bought from the bulk bins at whole foods.

Lunch – Leftover Baked Penne from last night.  Tasted even better the second time around which I find pasta often does.

Snack –

Chocolate Peanut Butter Simply Bar – These were developed by a woman who suffered from Crohn’s disease.  The ingredient list is short and recognizable.  The nutrition profile is great; with 16 grams of protein and only 160 calories.  They taste like a rice crispy bar only more nutritious.  To wash it down I paired it with a…

Cherry Lime Mamma Chia drink – If you’ve ever put chia seeds in liquid you know how they create kind of a jelly like consistency.  These drinks have that texture and it’s one of the few drinks I’ve ever had to chew.  But the nutrition profile is good and they’re pretty low in calories.  One way of getting your omegas.  Kind of pricey but aren’t you worth it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dinner – Roasted Tomato Millet Salad ala Daily Garnish.  Super delicious; I loved the tangy sweetness of roasted tomatoes and combined with some salty Kalamata olives and fresh basil, mmmm!  I think next time I’ll toast the millet before I cook it and maybe cut back on the water a bit.  It could have been my rice cooker, but my grains weren’t quite as fluffy as I would have liked.  But all in all that girl can cook and comes up with some fantastically simple recipes that she’ll need once Baby C. enters the picture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So there you have it–What I ate Wednesday.  A regular feature, perhaps but probably not.  I’m easily bored 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

