Before I Melt

Before I melted this afternoon I made a cool grain and bean salad and enjoyed it outside with my fountain making beautiful music in the background.

Quinoa Black Bean Mango Salad

1 mango – peeled, pitted and cubed

1 bell pepper – seeded and diced (I used a red one for color but any would do)

1/2 c green onion – sliced, whites and some of the green tops

1 jalapeno – finely chopped

1 can black beans – drained and rinsed

2 c red quinoa – cooked and cooled.  I toasted it lightly before cooking it in my rice cooker.  3/4 c quinoa to 1 1/2 cups water

2 T olive oil

2 T balsamic vinegar – I used a wonderful fig balsamic that I bought at the farmer’s market

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp pepper – freshly ground of course

1 tsp Italian seasoning

Baby spinach or other greens

Mix fruit, veggies, grains and beans together in a large bowl.  Whisk together remaining ingredients, except spinach and pour over mixture in the bowl.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes or longer to develop the flavors.  Serve over baby spinach.  Eat in the backyard and enjoy the evening breeze from the ocean or pretend you’re there.

And feel free to sneak a piece of mango while you chop it up, don’t think I didn’t.

Leave a comment

Filed under Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

