Vegan Mofo Day 1 – Apple Butternut Squash Soup

So here we are day 1 of Mofo and it is freakin’ hot here, who wants to cook and especially who wants to cook the soup I had planned.  Think I would give up that easily???  Oh no, I didn’t drag out a large stash of cookbooks, magazines, newspaper clippings, and recipes handwritten on napkins for nothing.  This is Mofo, people.

And in 97 degree heat (no air conditioning mind you) I got busy in the kitchen.  Really folks, I have an immersion blender stashed in the garage that I want to cut the tags off of.   My reason for Mofoing this year is that I’ve gotten into a rut of eating the same thing day in and day out.  When I was blogging regularly I didn’t have this one note rotation of meals.  I was fun, spontaneous, dare I say exciting (probably not, but it sounded good).  So I got out my spreadsheet and started plotting out my Mofo strategy.  Wait, what?  Not everyone uses a spreadsheet to track what they’re going to make??  So much for spontaneous, right?  I know there’s some techno geeks out there right now trying to shield their Mofo spreadsheets from prying eyes, but I know, I know.

Back to soup, okay.  This is a really simple Fall soup that is delicious hot or cold.

Apple Butternut Squash Soup

  • 2 T Earth Balance
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 large Granny Smith apple, peeled and chopped
  • 2 medium butter nut squash, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 6 cups vegetable broth

Get out your big soup pot.  No not that one, the big one.  Okay, melt your EB over low heat.  Add the apple and onion and saute for 3 minutes.  Add spices  and saute for one more minute.  Add the broth and squash and bring to a boil.  See I told you you needed that big pot.  Turn down the heat and simmer for 30 minutes until the squash is tender.  Remove from heat and use an immersion blender to blend into the desired consistency.  I went a little crazy since it was the first time using my blender, usually I like some chunks in my soup.  Alternatively you could process in a blender or food processor in batches.  Just make sure to vent your blender lid unless you like hot soup sprayed in your eyes.  You never know, I don’t roll like that but if it’s your thing…

I let mine cool down quite a bit before indulging (remember the heat here?).  You can add salt and pepper to taste, I didn’t but it’s your soup, do what you want.  I topped mine with some chopped pistachios since I had blended the heck out it and I wanted something to chew on.   You can also add more liquid if you like your soup thinner, you can see I didn’t do that either.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Mofo, Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

