Vegan MoFo – Enchiladas in the Crockpot

Remember when cooking in a crockpot meant mom plunking some hunk of mystery meat in the pot and pouring a can of Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom Soup on top; throwing a few chopped up potatoes and carrots in and calling it done???  No, don’t remember that?  Me neither.  My mom didn’t make dinner in a crock pot.  But looking at some of the old slow cooker cookbooks hanging around that’s pretty much what slow cooking meant.  Over the past few years those old meat and potatoes books have been replaced with some awesome vegetarian and vegan slow cooker cookbooks, The Vegan Slow Cooker, by Kathy Hester; Quick and Easy Vegan Slow Cooking by Carla Kelly; and Fresh From the Vegan Slow Cooker by Robin Robertson to name a few.  Of course I needed all of them and these are books I actually use.  Tonight it was Chorizo and Sweet Potato  Enchilada Casserole that simmered all day while D and I painted and hung shutters.  Shutters that have been sitting in my garage for at least 6 years waiting to be hung.  Why am I such a procrastinator?  Did I put that on my list of things to do, by the way, stop being such a procrastinator?  Probably not, I thought I could do it tomorrow, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Mofo, Vegan Cooking

Leave a Reply

