Hash

Have you heard of hashing.  I hadn’t until recently.  It turns out it’s a group of runners who get together, one person marks the route using various symbols. Then the runners try to follow the route and if you get to t he end you get the reward…usually in the form of beer.  Hashing originated in 1938 in Kuala Lumpur.  Their Constitution stated the purpose of the club was:

  • To promote physical fitness among our members
  • To get rid of weekend hangovers
  • To acquire a good thirst and to satisfy it in beer
  • To persuade the older members that they are not as old as they feel
  • This is not exactly the type of hash I was thinking of after watching a DDD episode.  This time around Guy visited some awesome breakfast places and was served up some hash which put me in the mind set for some seitan hash.  Alas I had no seitan or potatoes, which is how I usually think of hash.  Using what I had in the fridge, I whipped up a tofu hash that was pretty dang good.  The secret to hash is to get it really get crispy, almost to the point of a light burn.  My tofu was mixed with yellow pepper, zucchini, tiny tomatoes, and onion.  Seasoned simply with liquid aminos, sea salt, and pepper.  Oh yum, this was cooked just right.  So now I have to try seitan hash, but how about the running hash?

    Leave a comment

    Filed under running, Vegan Cooking

    Leave a comment